Public holidays in Spain 2018

Lifestyle Seasonal Celebrations

Spanish Public Holidays

Wondering why the shops are closed? Well here is our guide for those days when you should forget the shopping and take it easy.
Spain has some public holidays that apply to the entire country, other public holidays which apply only regionally and even local holidays which apply only to some municipalities.​

National holidays
1st of January – New Year
6th of January – Epiphany
25th of March – Palm Sunday
29th of March – Maundy Thursday (Except Catalonia)
30th of March – Good Friday
1st of April – Easter Sunday
1st of May – Fiesta del Trabajo
25th of July – Santiago
15th of August – Assumption Day
12th of October – Columbus Day
1st of November – All Saints Day
6th of December – Spain's Constitution Day
8th of December – Immaculate Conception Day
25th of December - 1st Christmas Day

Regional holidays (mainly in Andalusia, Murcia and Valencia)
28th of February – Andalusia's Day (Andalusia)
19th of March – San Jose (Valencia and Murcia)
2nd of April – Easter Sunday (Valencia, the Balearic Islands, Catalonia, La Rioja and Navarra)
2nd of May – the day after Labor day off (Andalusia, Aragonia, Asturias, Canary Islands, Kastillien, Leon, Extremadura and Madrid)
9th of June – Day of the Murcia Region (Murcia)
9th of October – Valencia's Day (Valencia)
26th of December – Public holiday in some regions (all regions except the Canary Islands, Galicia, Basque Country and La Rioja)